A motorboat or jet ski license is required for anyone operating a motorized water vehicle, like a motorboat or jet ski. Before entering the water, you must complete a few tasks, like getting your driver’s license. So how do you get a motorboat or jet ski license in New Jersey?
Dealing with the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission is good for you! They have a website that is easy to use, and the instructions for getting your motorboat license are clearly laid out. So read on and learn all the steps in getting a motorboat or jet ski license in New Jersey!
Getting a jet ski or Motorboat License in New Jersey
You must have a license if you intend to operate a motorized watercraft on non-tidal waters in New Jersey. Non-tidal are areas of water that are not controlled by the tides, like rivers and lakes. Getting a license is a breeze; you must meet a few state standards, but once those are cleared, you are on your way to the water.
The Requirements to Obtain a Boating License in New Jersey
You must meet a few standards before getting into the water like a car. These standards protect you and those others you encounter when on the lake. In addition, they allow vessel operators to acquire insurance and defend themselves in case of an accident.
The requirements to obtain a boating license in New Jersey are as follows:
- Age 17 – One of the first things you must know is that you must be 17 to get a boating license. A loophole allows a 16-year-old to get a license, but they must have a letter from their guardian or appear when filing for the license.
- Pay Fees – A great thing about New Jersey is that they have lower-priced fees. For instance, an $18 fee is charged for getting the license. The cost goes to pay the offices that enforce the laws, and $18 is a bargain for anything these days.
Remember that you must have the correct information when applying for a license; you will be turned away if you don’t. Now that you know what to do to get a license, you are ready for the next step.
Boating Class is the First Step in the Process
You must know the New Jersey laws of the water before operating a motorized watercraft. The laws in each state vary, and by understanding the ones in your state, you protect yourself from harm and a ton of fines and possible jail time.
Some of the things you will need for the boating class are as follows:
- Boating Safety Info – Having the book of laws, the Boating Safety Manual is one of the first things on your to-do list. The next item on your list is the Boating is Alive and Well in New Jersey video. You are required to have read the information before the class. In addition, it’s a good idea to have the laws on you at all times while you are on the water.
The boating class is essential for getting a license. Not only will the course, videos, and reading give you bearings while on the water they could help you navigate a dangerous situation. Being prepared isn’t just for Scouts; you never know what might save someone’s life someday.
- Pay New York Speeding Ticket Online
- NJ Surcharge Payment
- How to Get a Teaching License in NJ?
- New Jersey Business License
- How to Get a Fishing License in NJ?
A Field Trip to the DMV is Essential
Now that you have the correct information and know the water rules, it is time to get your New Jersey motor boat or jet ski license. The next step to take is to go to your local New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission office. Once there, you will submit everything you have done thus far and leave with your shiny new license.
Getting your motorboat or jet ski license is required in New Jersey. Motorized vehicles on the lake can be dangerous, and the state wants to ensure that everyone on their water is licensed and trained to drive a motor boat or jet ski. Unless you are going into the ocean or are operating a sailboat, chances are you will need a license.
The process to get a license is simple. First, you have to round up all your identification materials. Then you will have to do some extracurricular studying, like reading and a few videos. After studying comes the live class on the lake. Once the class ends, you can enter your local New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission office and get licensed.