NJ Surcharge is a monetary fine charged by the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System (NJSVS) on drivers who are guilty of traffic violations or who have accumulated more than six points on their driving license records.
If you have six or more violation points on your DL record in the past three years, you will be subject to an annual surcharge for next three years. The NJ Surcharge fee starts from $150 for first six points and goes up by $25 for each point beyond six.
Significant infractions such as driving while intoxicated (DUI) or driving without a license can result in even higher surcharges. Unpaid surcharges may result in your driving license being suspended or other legal consequences.
|Violation Type||Annual Surcharge Fee|
|6+ Points Over Three Years||$150 for the first 6 points + $25 for each additional point|
|No Insurance||$250 for 3 years|
|Driving While Suspended||$250 for 3 years|
|DUI (First Offense)||$1000 for 3 years|
|Refusing Breathalyzer Test||$1000 for 3 years|
Now, Let’s see how to pay New Jersey surcharge (NJSurcharge) online?” at the official NJ Surcharge website. You can clear all your NJ DMV surcharge bills online using NJSVS (New Jersey Surcharge Violation System).
Note: Thousands of people pay extra fines every year because most of us are not aware of all the NJ Surcharge laws and. First understand, how Surcharge is imposed and how it is calculated correctly.
Do not skip any of the information on this page; otherwise, you are going to end up paying extra fines.
First things first, If you don’t know why you got a surcharge on your ticket, then you must know it before paying for your surcharge.
As we all know, whenever we violate a traffic rule, we will be issued a traffic ticket, and also get a certain number of points added to our driving license.
According to New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission laws, if you have more than six points on your driving license over the period of three years then you will have to pay one hundred and fifty dollars ($150) surcharge annually for the next three years. Not only $150 surcharge but for each point above six points there will be an additional $25 surcharge.
Pay NJ Surcharge Online
You can Pay all your New Jersey surcharges using four different ways.
- You can pay it online by using Credit or Debit Cards. All Major Credit and debit cards will work for this method. Be advised that the 2-3% processing fee may be charged extra by banks for this method. You can pay the surcharge by visiting the Official NJ Surcharge Website.
- You can directly pay by doing a simple call to an official NJ toll-free number (844) 424-6829. The payment will be made using your cards, so please be ready with your ATM cards.
- Pay directly with Cash at any Western Union Money Transfer office in the USA.
- You can pay it by a Cheque or money order. As this is not convenient, I am not going to give you more details about this one.
|Payment Method||Credit or Debit Cards|
|Timings||8:00 AM – 5 PM EST|
How NJ Surcharge is Calculated?
For example, Let’s consider someone got nine violation points over the last 36 months.
First 6 Points = $150
For Next 3 Points ( $25 for each point) = $25*3 = $75
For 9 Points = $225
So finally, for 9 point you have an additional surcharge of $225 per year. So the total will be, $225 over next three years costing a total of whopping $675 surcharge.
If your license is expired, the charge will be $250 annually. That means a total of $750.
- NJ Surcharge for operating a vehicle without DL or expired driving license is $100 per annum.
- Surcharge for Driving with a suspended license in New Jersey is $250 per year for next three years.
- Surcharge for uninsured motor vehicle is $250 per annum.
- Surcharge for driving while intoxicated (DUI) is $1,500 per annum.
To know more details about your all surcharges, call to (609) 292-7500, extension 5024.NJ.Gov
- Njmcdirect Plead Not Guilty
- Pay NJ traffic ticket Payment online Guide
- NJ Ticket Lookup
- Restore Expired Driving License in NJ
I hope you learned a lot about NJ Surcharge Payment Online methods. Feel free to leave your valuable feedback about New Jersey Surcharge laws.
is www.njsurcharge.com Down?
The www.njsurcharge.com website has been permanently shut down by the New Jersey government. They have moved this website to the upgraded NJ surcharge portal on the NJ State website. You can still complete the surcharge payments at the new state web portal.
In the past, the official website for NJSurcharge online payments was www.njsurcharge.com. Everyone should know that the www.njsurcharge.com website is now being redirected to https://www1.state.nj.us/TYTR_NJAISC_Web/index.jsp.
Everyone who is looking to make their surcharge payments online should visit the new NJ surcharge portal at this web address.