How much does the state of New Jersey charge for vehicle registration? For an in-depth guide about the vehicle registration fee in NJ, the forms required, and the process of renewal, read this guide.
Whether you are a current resident or moving to New Jersey, vehicle registration is a must.
Law enforcement needs to know that you are the real owner of the car, so you must register it. In New Jersey, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission is the authority that offers registration services.
- Pay NJ Traffic Ticket
- Pay NJSurcharge
- NJ E-ZPass Pay Bill Online
- Njmcdirect plead not guilty
- How to Register a Car in New Jersey?
But to make the process easier, the body has given some local agencies the job of registering vehicles for them. To learn more about the agencies, visit the official NJ MVC website.
In today’s guide, you will get to know how much it will cost you to register your vehicle, the forms to fill, and the process of renewing your car registration.
So, how much does it cost to register a vehicle in New Jersey?
Whether it is a commuter van, private car, commercial truck, or boat, you need to register them while in NJ.
What is Vehicle Registration Fee in New Jersey?
The vehicle registration fee in New Jersey depends on the vehicle weight class and model year. There are nine weight classes for automobiles in NJ. Here is a table showing different vehicle registration fees in New Jersey according to weight class and model year.
|1||1970 or older||Under-2,700 lbs.||$35.50|
|2||1970 or older||2,700 lbs. to 3,800 lbs.||$44.50|
|3||1970 or older||Over 3,800 lbs.||$65.50|
|4||1971 – 1979||Under-2,700 lbs.||$38.50|
|5||1971 – 1979||2,700 lbs. to 3,800 lbs.||$49.50|
|6||1971 – 1979||Over 3,800 lbs.||$72.50|
|7||older than two years||Under-3,500 lbs.||$46.50|
|7||within two years||Under-3,500 lbs.||$59.00|
|8||older than two years||Over 3,500 lbs.||$71.50|
|8||within two years||Over 3,500 lbs.||$84.00|
|9||older than two years||Commuter Van**||$71.50|
|9||within two years||Commuter Van**||$84.00|
for non-commercial trucks and SUVs whose purpose is for commercial use. Your gross weight determines what fee you will pay for registration.
Furthermore, here are the non-commercial trucks and SUVs recognized by the NJ MVC.
- Ford Ranchero
- Chevrolet El-Camino
- Subaru Brat
- Pickup Trucks
When you decide to register your car as non-commercial, you cannot use it to advertise any product or service by having any name or address, signs, or lettering. The only thing it can possess is the manufacturer’s name and trademarks.
Source: NJ MVC
New Jersey Vehicle Registration Forms
What forms do you need to fill out during the vehicle registration process in New Jersey?
There are three forms you need to complete before your vehicle is registered in New Jersey.
- Form OS/SS/UTA
The form is to ensure you get a New Jersey vehicle title.
- Form BA-49
To complete this form, you need to visit your local motor vehicle agency. The document is meant to apply for vehicle registration.
- Form OS/SS-14
This form is for the application of an ownership certificate for a new vehicle.
NB: All these forms should be filled out and submitted to a motor vehicle agency by the vehicle owner.
Go to the agency in person in case you are required to fill out other forms.
New Jersey Vehicle Renewal Guide
Is your vehicle’s registration expiration date approaching? Then you need to renew it as soon as possible.
If you don’t know how to renew your registration, you can learn how to restore your vehicle’s registration here.
Ways to Renew Vehicle Registration in NJ
There are three methods that you can use to renew vehicle registration in New Jersey.
- Through Mail
You should know that NJ MVC sends you a renewal notice three months before the expiration date.
to renew your vehicle registration online. The following are things you must do to complete the process:
- Registration renewal form
- Insurance ID card
- Valid credit card
Here are steps to follow when renewing your registration online:
- You are required to enter the PIN on the registration renewal form.
- Here you will input your insurance information, SSN, update your address (Optional), and the number of family duplicates needed.
Special Interest Plates
- Choose a special interest license plate (if need be).
- Input your credit card details to pay the renewal fees.
Your renewal comes into effect instantly as soon as you complete the process. But you will get the documents within two weeks. Also, if you applied for a special interest license plate and family duplicates, you will get them within the same period.
Contact NJ MVC at 609-292-6500 when you don’t get the documents on time.
Another method to use to renew your vehicle registration is by going to the agency in person. So, here are items you should carry to a motor vehicle agency:
- Registration renewal notice/Vehicle identification number
- Insurance ID card
- License plate number
- Driver’s license
- Power of attorney
- Renewal fees
At the local agency, you will fill out the registration renewal form and pay the renewal fees.
NB: Visit an available local agency that should be accredited by the NJ MVC. To get to know about the agencies, visit the NJ MVC website.
Mail Renewal Process
In case you don’t find the two ways viable, there’s another method. Renew your vehicle’s registration via mail.
So, how do you go about it?
On the renewal notice sent by the NJ MVC, there’s a form. Complete it and enter it in the return envelope. Also, you need to accompany the document with a check or money order in the return mail.
When done, send it back to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.
NB: Make sure that your address is visible via the envelope’s window.
What Happens If the Renewal Notice Gets Lost?
You may lose your renewal notice, but if it’s within the renewal period, you can do the process online.
To get the PIN, contact NJ MVC or through Renewal PIN.
How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Registration
Losing your vehicle’s registration documents is daunting. But here is a solution for you.
You can do it online or visit an NJ MVC agency with your driver’s license.
Also, you need to have your NJ insurance ID card. At the agency, you will complete Form BA-49.
Moreover, you will have to pay to replace the registration documents.
If the car is not yours (leased), replacing the vehicle registration is possible.
Vehicle registration is a vital process in most states in the US. However, the cost and registration differ. If you didn’t know about the fees in NJ, now you do.
Thanks for reading if you have any questions about the registration fees in New Jersey. Leave a comment, and you will get an answer instantly.